Home > english > Workaround: Garmin Forerunner 305 causes blue screen on Windows 7

Workaround: Garmin Forerunner 305 causes blue screen on Windows 7

I have had a Garmin Forerunner 305 for quite a while now and it has worked fine with my old computer that was running Windows XP. But now with my new computer that is running Windows 7 it causes Windows to crash with a blue screen whenever I plug it in. The internet suggests that I should re-install the latest USB drivers in Windows XP compatibility mode, but that does not work for me and it is still crashing if I plug it in while Windows is running.

I have however found two workarounds that work. The first and not so useful one is to start the computer with the device connected. Then everything works fine. The second and more useful workaround is to lock the computer (Win + L) so you display the login screen when you plug in the device. Then Windows doesn’t crash when you plug in the Forerunner and it’s working fine and detecting the device once logged in again.

Sometimes when I try to read data from the watch the process just hangs, but in this case I just try again and it works.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

