Home > english, games > Solution: Can not activate the galaxy map in Mass Effect 1

Solution: Can not activate the galaxy map in Mass Effect 1

A while a go I was playing Mass Effect 1 and had some problems with the galaxy map when I first got on board the Normandy. I walked around the whole ship but could not figure out how to activate the galaxy map. When I got close to it was indicated on the screen, but the text was grayed out so I couldn’t activate it. Suspecting that my save game was corrupt somehow I restarted the game and played it from the beginning again but had the exact problems the next time.

After googling I found that a lot of other people had similar problems, but they could activate the galaxy map and it was just blank. Also that only happened on pirated games and I had bought my copy.

Finally after a lot of struggling I realized I was trying to activate the galaxy map from the wrong place. To activate it you have to go around the galaxy map and up the ramp on the back, as you can see on this YouTube video. I was running around the ship for almost an hour trying to figure out how to use the map and never saw the ramp. No wonder I couldn’t find any other information on the internet about it.

Categories: english, games Tags: , ,
  1. Shepard
    21 August, 2012 at 09:42

    Same here pro

  2. Gary
    1 January, 2013 at 15:35

    what an assinine piece of design work. I too spent fruitless hours walking up to a greyed out open invitation to the map and searched for clues on the net to get nothing but twits making accusations regarding pirated software. Thank goodness I found your post.🙂

  3. 1 January, 2013 at 16:12

    I’m glad I could help you.

  4. sir omes
    23 May, 2013 at 10:34

    i can’t believe how dumb that design is =_= i just spent an hour looking through “bug fixes” that didn’t work…because there wasn’t even a bug. ugh.
    anyway, thanks for the tip.

  5. Sijach
    6 June, 2013 at 00:39

    You saved my neck. I was freaking out because everywhere else I looked it said my game was corrupted and I’d have to buy a new copy. Thank you!!

  6. mark
    30 September, 2013 at 07:48

    Same problem here. Thanks!

  7. Adam
    19 May, 2014 at 04:44

    Thank you so much!

  8. 28 June, 2014 at 10:56

    Thanks man.

  9. 3spooky2u
    6 August, 2014 at 19:54

    I know this is late, but you people are literally retarded if you couldn’t find the map entrance.

  10. 6 August, 2014 at 22:29

    3spooky2u, that’s why I started this blog. To help other retards like me with various retarded problems. Thanks for taking your time to read about our stupid problems even though you don’t share them with us!

  11. Justin
    7 September, 2016 at 20:22

    what a helpful comment 3spooky2u xD

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

